Back to blogging!

Hey everybody. It’s been a while since I kept a blog, but I figured it was about time to start one up again, because a pretty big thing happened to me last week.

I accepted an offer of representation from a literary agent. Her name is Hannah Fergesen and she works at KT Literary Agency and she’s awesome.

Wow! You’re going to write a book?

Actually, I already wrote a book. If it’s fiction, they make you write the whole book before anyone will treat it as a saleable commodity. But I have done that. Yay me!

I didn’t know you wrote a book.

I probably didn’t tell you. I didn’t tell very many people, because when you tell people you’re writing a book and you are not already known for writing books, the general (and correct) response is, “Oh good for you, I guess. What’s it about? Dragons, or all the people you slept with in college? Uh-huh no I’m totally interested, you should keep talking. I’m just going to order another drink.”

Congratulations on writing a book! Where can I buy it?

You can’t yet. That’s why I need an agent. When you write a book, you have to get an agent to sell the book to a publisher for you so that they’ll print it. You see, there are a lot of steps in the publishing industry, especially for somebody who’s brand new like me, and–you know what, that’s okay. Go get your drink.

So how long before your book gets published?

Ahahahahaha I’ll let you know.

You know, I have a cousin who wrote a book and she just put it up on Amazon herself. 

Yeah, I didn’t want to do it that way. But I hope your cousin’s book is doing well.

Anyway, why are you making a whole new website over this?

I’m so glad you asked! Since it’s going to take a while for the book I wrote (which is amazing, by the way) to actually make it to interested readers like you, I wanted to make the most of the intervening time by creating a nice web space for myself, where you can check in and see what I’m up to, and get updates on how the book is progressing, and hear about whatever else I might be working on.

Aren’t you on Facebook?

Totally. I’m on Facebook and Twitter and Tumblr. If you want to follow me there too that’s awesome. By having a website of my very own in addition to that, I can make it easy for you or anyone else to learn what’s up with me immediately, and show a little more of my own personality. They say it’s good for writers to have personal websites. It builds their platform.

What’s a platform?

Honestly, nobody knows. But it’s important to have a big one.

I get it. Want a drink?

Yes, thank you.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

